Give us this day, our daily, dev tool.

Donovan
6 min readMay 11, 2021
Photo by Mitchell Luo on Unsplash

During my interviews as a line cook; a senior, highly advanced, brunch runnin’, dual spatula weilding, plancha cook, I was asked if I had the necessary tools for the job. During my time as a student in rhetoric and communications, we were always told to use common literary tools that would allow us to break down the work and see the moving parts that make up the whole of the work. Ah yes, tools. Not a word that is just reserved for the components inside one of those aluminum saddle boxes, those treasure chests of tool boxes in the beds of pickup trucks, oh no! As a developer it would behoove you to utilize the many tools that are accessible and available to you in order to work more efficient as well as stay organized and understand what the code is doing for you.

Some of the tools are built in to frameworks and libraries, some are tools that will help you and others collaborate easily, some are forums where you can research problem solving techniques used by others, some are communication tools that allow you to be in contact with the ones you are working with, and others are ones you will download and make us of regularly.

Enough gabbing. Heres some of the tools that I use on the daily to make my life as a developer all that more purposeful.

Google.

--

--

Donovan

Learning. Puttin up shots in Angular and Java and Python and anything else I get my hands on. Sights set on becoming a gainfully employed developer.